Searching “is my EV charger recalled” usually means one of two things: you own a brand you’ve seen in the news, or you’re buying used and want to know what to check first. This guide pulls together every recall we’ve found across the brands covered on this site, distinguishes a real recall from an open investigation, and gives you the exact government databases to search by model and serial number — not just a brand name.
Every known EV charger and adapter recall, by brand
| Brand / product | Year | Units affected | Issue | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Webasto/AeroVironment TurboCord, TurboDock, TurboDX | 2018 | ~6,414 | Circuit-board capacitor could overheat (shock/fire risk) | Resolved — free replacement via Webasto, NHTSA filing 18E086000 |
| Webasto-made OEM charge cord (2022-2023 Chevy Bolt EUV) | 2023 | ~9,423 | Software bug — charging could fail to stop if ground connection lost | Resolved — GM/Webasto remedy |
| Lectron Vortex Plug (NACS-to-CCS1 adapter) | 2024 | 1,624 (NHTSA filing figure) | Latch could release while charging | Resolved — free replacement via Dropcases Ltd. |
| Enel X Way JuiceBox (residential) | 2024-present | Unknown — 6 complaints cited | Alleged failures incl. a garage fire and a car fire | Open NHTSA Preliminary Evaluation — not a recall |
| Leviton 50A Non-NEMA plugs/connectors/receptacles | 2019-2020 | Not publicly stated | Mismarked wire terminals (labeling defect) | Resolved — industrial receptacle hardware, not the EV32W/EV40P/EV48W charging stations |
| Ford factory NACS adapter | 2024 | Not publicly stated | Overheating / derating on a batch | Ford asked owners to pause use of the affected batch |
A useful gut-check before you panic over a brand name in this table: of the two most-recalled charger makers above (Webasto and Lectron), both recalls were narrow and resolved, and neither touches the specific models we currently recommend on this site — Webasto’s recalls hit discontinued TurboCord/TurboDock units and a third-party OEM cord, not the current Webasto Go or TurboDX lineup, and Lectron’s recall was limited to adapters sold in a 25-day manufacturing window (March 14-April 8, 2024), not its V-Box Pro charger or portable EVSEs.
Grizzl-E Classic 40A
- No CPSC or NHTSA recall on record for any Grizzl-E model, and its no-app, no-cloud design means there's no connected-software layer that could trigger the kind of investigation JuiceBox is currently facing.
- Covered in full in our Grizzl-E lineup guide.
Installing chargers for a business? A free Amazon Business account unlocks quantity discounts and tax-exempt purchasing if you’re outfitting more than one unit.
Recall vs. investigation: a real distinction, not just semantics
Every brand’s recall in the table above followed the same sequence: a defect was identified, a regulator (CPSC or NHTSA) and the manufacturer agreed on it, and a remedy — almost always a free replacement — was issued to registered owners. That’s a closed loop.
The JuiceBox situation is different. NHTSA’s Office of Defects Investigation opened a Preliminary Evaluation into Enel X Way’s residential JuiceBox chargers in October 2024 after six complaints, including one alleging a garage fire that destroyed a home and another describing a vehicle fire in a driveway. A Preliminary Evaluation is NHTSA’s earliest, most open-ended review stage — it means complaints triggered a formal look, not that a defect has been confirmed or that a fix has been ordered. As of this guide’s research, no recall has followed. We already don’t recommend buying a JuiceBox new or used for unrelated business reasons (see our full JuiceBox guide) — this open investigation is a second, separate reason existing owners should keep an eye on NHTSA’s recall database rather than assume “no recall yet” means “cleared.”
Don’t confuse a car recall with a charger recall
The Chevy Bolt is the clearest example of why checking the exact product name matters, not just the vehicle. GM’s 2020-2022 recall campaign covered a battery-cell manufacturing defect inside the Bolt EV/EUV’s own battery pack — a vehicle-side fire risk, unrelated to any charging equipment, fixed with a full pack or module replacement under an 8-year/100,000-mile warranty once completed. The separate 2023 recall covered only the Webasto-made portable charge cord bundled with 2022-2023 Bolt EUVs specifically — a software bug in the cord’s ground-fault handling, nothing to do with the battery. A given Bolt could be affected by the battery recall, the cord recall, both, or neither, and completing one doesn’t touch the other. See our Chevy Bolt home charger guide for how the battery recall affects a used Bolt purchase specifically.
How to check your own charger
- Search NHTSA’s recall database by manufacturer or product name — EVSE and charging-cable recalls are filed here, not just vehicle recalls.
- Search CPSC’s recall list or SaferProducts.gov for electrical-hardware recalls regulated by the Consumer Product Safety Commission rather than NHTSA.
- Check the manufacturer’s own support page for your exact model and firmware/hardware revision — manufacturers are required to notify registered owners directly, but registration isn’t automatic if you bought used or skipped setup.
- Buying used? Verify the UL file number on the unit’s rating label against UL’s own Product iQ database first — our used EV charger guide covers this full 4-point check in detail.
The bottom line
Recalls on home EV charging hardware are rare and, so far, narrow — three confirmed recalls across 16+ brands we track, each resolved with a free replacement and none touching a current best-seller we recommend today. The one open item worth watching is NHTSA’s Preliminary Evaluation into JuiceBox, which is a real safety flag but not yet a confirmed defect or recall. If you own or are buying a charger from a brand with no entry in the table above, that absence is a genuinely good sign — just confirm it yourself at recalls.nhtsa.gov rather than take any single article’s word for it, including this one.